11/13/2015 - 11/15/2015


This is the 3rd time coming to this little piece of paradise. My life changed here this weekend when my best friend proposed to me in the little clearing down the path. This place will forever hold a special place in my heart. We couldn't ask for better accomodations or a more friendly family to let us stay here. The best of the best.

-The Future Mrs. Guest


04/28/2016 - 05/01/2016


The original plan was to share the trip with one or both of my brothers, but when that fell through I ended up here by myself. I thought I might get bored, but to be honest I am having a difficult time leaving right now. The setting for this cabin is absolutely beautiful. I had a feeling that the state forest would be a magnet for wild life- especially birds- and was not disappointed. They are everywhere and their song is about all that breaks the silence, save for the occasional distant train. Spent part of each day fishing below the dam in Shelbyville, also part of the original place. Did quite well, and was sure to send pictures to my brothers! I also took time to hike the Rocky Springs trail, which is just down the street. Highly recommended! Has three miles with some hills, but they were thoughtful enough to add a few benches at just the right spots. Mike can show you where the trail is. Be sure to walk all the trails right on the property. They were great! I knew it was going to be a nice visit when I came across a wild box turtle on my first walk around the pond. In all, a great, relaxing getaway. Mike and his daughter were as friendly and accommodating as can be. I will be recommending this place to all of my friend and family!


08/19/2016 – 08/21/2016 

Carla, Saxtos, Debbie, Jake, Josh Contreras 

What an awesome home away from home! So peaceful and comfortable. Cabin was very clean and inviting. Mike, the owner, is fantastic to deal with, and his pretty daughter is so sweet. The young men enjoyed the pond and row boat and fished pretty much the whole time we were here. My son and I can’t wait to come back. Thanks so much! 

 

09/09/2016 – 09/11/2016 

Jeannie, Scott, Chad Dotterer 

What a great place to stay when you’re in town for a wedding. Very quiet and peaceful. Fun following the trails, while we didn’t get to have a bonfire, it was still a good time. 

 

10/15/2016 – 10/19/2016 

Kim & Tracy Bossaller 

This cabin is an absolute delight! It is clean and cozy with a complete idealic setting. For two city girls this place is perfect. We were able to be out in nature but still be comfortable. Thank you for all the work you do to make this suck a great place. We will be back! 



12/31/2016 – 01/02/2017 

Drew & Teresa Johnson 

We had a great new years weekend. Enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Loved the fireplace it was so warm and cozy. Cant wait to come back and bring our grandkids to enjoy some fishing. Thank you for you hospitality. God Bless. 

 

 01/14/2017 – 04/16/2017 

The Winter Family 

Your cabin is wonderful. We spent most of the rime walking the trails and fishing. The kids loved using the boat. It is beautiful and peaceful. Thank you so much for your hospitality!  

I caught a crappie, big mouth bass and a blue gill. My Dad caught a foot and a half long snapping turtle. 

 
04/21/2017 – 04/23/2017 

Steve & Britt 

Your cabin is truly amazing. We came for a weekend getaway and this place was true perfect spot. We hiked the beautiful grounds, watched the sunset from the porch, enjoyed the cozy fire at night and paddled around the pond as well. Thank you for keeping and offering such a great little treasure. 

 

05/21/2017 

Jana Butlon 

What a wonderful cabin. We had a girls weekend with friends over of an evening. It was so cozy and relaxing. We hope to be back and have our class reunion. Thank you so much for everything. 

 

05/27/2017 – 05/29/2017 

Bruce and Casey Evans 

Thank you again for this wonderful place. Our third visit here did not disappoint. So glad we found you guys a few years ago and hope to be coming back for years to come! Maybe will be back this summer or fall and bring our daughter too. Thanks again Mike and daughter. You are both so kind and helpful. We’ll be praying for you all and please, if you ever need help, let us know! God Bless! 

 

 

05/31/2017 – 06/1/2017 

Butch, Kris, Scott & Clinton 

Wonderful overnight stay, so heavenly! Hospitality great. We will be back! 

 

06/16/17 – 06/18/2017 

Regina Shaffer Family 

Thanks for a wonderful stay at your cabin. 

Parker I got two blue gill and a bass.  

Maggie three blue gill.  

Happy Fathers Day Matt Chapman! 

 

 08/11/2017 – 08/13/2017 

Sheldon, Blake, Bradley, Joe, Adam, Glenn, John, Taylor, Matt 

This was a perfect place for a small getaway bachelor party. Cabin is very nice and had the perfect setup. There was some pretty good fishing as well! Caught 4 lb bass endless blue gill. I for sure will defiantly be coming back again! Thanks so much! 

 

08/13/2017 – 08/15/2017 

Mike 

A great time visiting with my brothers! 

 
10/6/2017 - 10/9/2017 

Joe & Courtney Deters (Columbia, MO) 

What a wonderful cabin and setting to celebrate our 20 year anniversary! We loved the private and relaxing atmosphere. We had a great time fishing, taking out the boat and walking the trails. We also got to enjoy several things in Shelbyville and Effingham, both easy drives from the cabin. We hope to come back sometime and bring our boys with use next time, they would love this too. We had a great weekend, thanks for everything! 

 

11/3/2017 - 11/5/2017 

The Salinas Family (Mazon, IL) 

As a man who literally travels the country weekly for work, it was great to find this peaceful, beautiful, and comfortable location a short drive from our home in Mazon, IL. Our children were last minute additions and I am truly blessed to have been able to watch them play and run the trails here! This was a great get-a-way weekend. No phones, no electronics just board games, fire, and natures beauty! We’ll be back again soon! 

 

11/17/2018 - 11/19/2017 

Stan & Michelle 

We enjoyed another amazing weekend at The Nichols Cabin. We come back every year and here are the top ten reasons why! 

1.Family time. 2. Clean cabin. 3. Nature & wildlife. 4. Peace & quiet. 5. Fireplace. 6. Pond  

7. Trails. 8. Long lane. 9. Neimergs in Effingham. 10. Scrapbooking 

We will be back next year! Thanks for everything! 


03/24/2018 

Jared & Jessica 

We enjoyed celebrating our ten year anniversary in this beautiful cabin! The weather was cold and rainy, so it put a bit of a damper on outside activities, but we enjoyed our time watching the fire. We took time to unplug and get to know one another again. We will definitely be coming back again! Thank you so much! 

 

03/29/2018 - 03/31/2018 

Cerentano Family: From Metro St. Louis 

Dad: This was our family’s second stay in your cabin and like all the other reviews we love your cabin. It really is a great way to get away from it all but still close to home. Our family appreciates what you guys do to provide such a wonderful place. I look forward to coming back every year!  

Mom: Despite the rain (day 1) we had a great time! Exploring the pond, creek and flatlands finding all types of neat things. We found a rock about 6” tall shaped exactly like IL, a crawdad in the creek, about 6-7" long, an arrow in the skull of a deer – with many bone surrounding- and a ton of cool rocks. The cabin is warm and welcoming. This trip was exactly what we needing. We love Rocky Springs Cabin!  

Brooke: Although I came a day later, I had a great time! As always we had hotdogs and smores. My sister and I went out wading in the forest and we saw bones of when we thought was a deer. A couple of moments later we found and arrow head through part of the skeleton. It was pretty cool. - From Springfield, IL 

 

04/6/2018 

The Yoders: Arthur, IL 

We enjoyed our stay at Rocky Springs Cabin. We done a lot of hiking. It was a nice get away for us. We also enjoyed the cabin, never seen steps to loft like these. It was very quiet and peaceful. Thanks for the stay! Hopefully we can do it again.  

 
04/27/2018 - 04/29/2018 

Robert & Ellen & Jerica Schrock: Lovington, IL 

We enjoyed our relaxing stay. This is a very nice get away. We thought it was a great way to celebrate our Anniversary. Thanks! 

 
05/18/2018 

There I was deep in the jugle . . . just kidding. I was just walking around the pond. Awesome cabin! 

 
05/28/2018 

The Barnhills: Mackinaw, IL 

We stayed at the cabin for 2 nights. Awesome, quiet, peaceful and caught a lot of bass & some bluegill. We hope to be back some day. 

 
06/03/2018 

The Boyds (Rector, AR); The Villagamez’s (Elk Grove Village, IL) 

We enjoyed our friend getaway at Rocky Springs Cabin. We hope to meet here again as it met all of our needs.  

 
06/03/2018 - 06/06/2018 

The Dowdel’s  

Very much enjoyed our stay! Beautiful weather, peace & quiet, fishing, sitting by the fire, all of the wildlife (turtles, birds, bees, rabbits, squirrels, coons, owls, coyotes, vultures, and a hungry moccasin who tried to swallow a bluegill! The choir at night of crickets, frogs, owls and flying (flopping) fish with the snap of the fire made a perfect end to an evening. Thank you for sharing your piece of paradise! 

 
06/10/2018 

David & Tammy Taylor 

Wonderful first time visit. Even with my bum ankle, we enjoyed it very much. Our 9th anniversary. Very peaceful setting. Lovely, clean and spacious. We will want to come back again sometime. We were guests of Brenda Grenzebach & James.  

 

06/10/2018 

Breanda Grenzebach 

Awesome weekend- a lot of needed R & R. We thank you for sharing your paradise. We will be back soon and I took some cards and will spread the word. See yall soon.  

 
June 2018 

Walt & Vicki: LeClaire, IL 

Fathers Day Weekend. Need a location to get together with grand children and this place fit the bill perfectly. Caught and released so many bass lost count by noon Saturday. And a few of them were over 15”. The weather was slightly on the wary side but the breeze made it nice. All the kids had a very enjoyable time and want to come back here in the winter with snow on ground. Would recommend the place in a heart beat and will.  

 06/22/2018 - 06/23/2018 

Glen & Betty Chupp & Family 

Hello we had a good time and a nice quiet place to have a nice vacation. Look forward to come back again sometime.  

 
June 2018 

Delbert & Carol Sue Mast & Eric Matthew 

We enjoyed our relaxing stay – a nice place to have a peaceful vacation. This was our 3rd time and we hope to be back. Keep up the good work!  

 
07/06/2018 - 07/07/2018 

Willard & Carol Helmuth; Matthew -  Kevin – Lora -  Jason 

Thanks for everything! We really enjoyed our stay! 

 
07/23/2018 - 07/25/2018 

Mark & Terri Dickson: Mackinaw, IL 

Thanks for squeezing us in at the last minute. We couldn’t have asked for a nicer place to stay. All the best wishes for you and your family! 

 
07/27/2018 - 07/29/2018 

Rick & Julie McCann & Mayden & Paul: East Peoria, IL 

This was a very nice relaxing weekend. Your cabin is very nice and clean with a peaceful atmosphere. A great place for a getaway!  

 
08/02/2018 - 08/05/2018 

The Cooks: Thomasboro, IL 

I want to start out by saying you are so lucky to have such a wonderful place as this, honestly if it were mine it would be extremely hard to rent out. I would want to be here all the time. We appreciate you sharing your property with us. My family and I had such a wonderful time. We loved the fact it had a pond right at the front door. I wish we had a few more days to explore more of the land and try other fishing holes, this one was to great to leave to find others though. My spouse and I brought 14 month old son and was worried how he would be here but honestly it was like he was home! The separate bedroom was perfect to set a pack n play up so he could have his own privacy. We also set up a small baby pool in the yard, it was perfect entertainment. Our second night my brother and his wife come to join us from Danville, IL with their 8 month old daughter. The baby’s had a great time playing with toys in the living room, definitely “baby friendly place”. I also noticed there are a few different spots that would be great for setting tents up if the kids were a few years older. We put solar lights all the way around the pond, at night it was so beautiful. We had 6 tiki torches going that just made the night more relaxing. We are leaving the solar lights and tiki torches for futur guests to enjoy. They just need to bring fuel for them. I would recommend bringing 3 gallons of fuel for a 3 night stay. We lite them at dusk and put them out at midnight and used all the fuel. I also recommend for future guests to bring a good book because there is no phone service out here, which actually was great. You truly are cut off from the rest of the world out here. Thank you again for everything such a wonderful place. P.S. We will be returning if that’s ok 🙂 

 

08/08/2018 

Kim & Kurt Hill 

Words cannot describe the comfort. So much more than we expected! Caught a few fish, some bass and bluegill. Came to catch a muskie at the spillway. Hooked on. Did not land it. I did catch a nice waleye and some white and yellow bass. We will be back in the fall. This is our new favorite place. Thank you! Mike, it was a pleasure meeting you.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


02/15/2016

Dana & Clara


This is our fourth time staying here. Fourteen deer in the field our front at dusk! We hiked your little path again. Lovely fireplace. We stayed in and did art and ate soup. Perfect weekend. Snowed 3.4 inches Sunday. Love! Feels like you are inside your own little snow globe with all of the windows! :)  

3/10/2016

Aldwin & Daniel


Well let me tell you what. My boys and I stayed here in your cabin here and were truly blessed throughout our stay. I know that God made us, truly. We hope to come back for the 5th time!

12/31/2015

Rich & Daun


This was a great way to spend New Years Eve! The cabin and scenery are awesome!!!



03/31/2016 - 04/02/2016

Bill, Barb, Michael, & Griffian


Brought our grandson and his friend here for their 8th grade graduation. The cabin was awesome! They loved the loft and stairs! Went fishing and caught 12 bluegill and 5 bass. Released everything. Also, went to 3D archery range at Hidden Springs State Park. It was awesome even though some of the targets were down and they lost a few arrows. We love this place and hopefully will be back! Thanks Mike and family for your hospitality!

9/25/2015 - 9/27/2015

Bruce & Casey


Stayed here for our Anniversary. It was wonderful, just like last time. We really enjoy this little piece of paradise only an hour from our home in Atwood, IL.

 

10/19/2015 - 10/22/2015

Rollie & Stacie


A little heaven on earth. This place is beautiful. We fished and got 15 bluegills. Mike and Megan are wonderful. We will be back. This is one of our favorite places now. We were truly satisfied with everything. Thank you so much!!!

3/20/2016

Karen & Regina


Thanks Mike and your great daughter for everything! We had a great weekend. This morning, as we leave, the snow is falling, beautiful. Everything at the cabin is clean and nice. Thanks again!

1/1/2016 - 1/3/2016

Paul, Luke, James, Andy, Jack, Jamie, & Ted


Mike, you were so hospitable to our group. We love your cabin and will tell all of our friends in St. Louis and Chicago about this place. We all really appreciate your hospitality! Thanks again!

03/29/2016 - 03/31/2016

Willie, Punkie, Herb, & Clint


We fished and caught 36 bluegill harvesting 6 that averaged 8 inches. We also caught 14 bass. The largest was 18 inches along with 6 others averaging 14 inches. All were released. The trails and the continuous observance of nature was wonderful. Not going without saying. . . who wouldn't enjoy this beautiful cabin. Thanks a bunch!

Reviews From 2015 - 2018

10/16/2015 - 10/18/2015

Mike & Joni


Our 1st time here (for our anniversary). This is a wonderful place to get away from the day-to-day life. Beautiful cabin, beautiful surroundings. We'll tell everyone we know! Great hospitality!

04/2/2016 - 04/4/2016

Darrell, Vicky, & Austin


We brought our grandson here to celebrate his birthday. Good bonding time. Walked the trails and loved the little creek. He fished a little but enjoyed the trails and wood fireplace better. Very windy but sky was clear so millions of stars were out. First impression of cabin was wishing it was mine!

Rocky Springs Cabin LLC